Coil ‎– Backwards - 2LP

Image of  Coil ‎– Backwards - 2LP

24.00 - On Sale

After the groundbreaking release of 1990’s Love’s Secret Domain album, Coil were not dormant; their main project was Backwards, which was started in 1992, updated considerably between 1993 and 1995, and transferred in 1996 to New Orleans, where it was finished in the magic of the Nothing Studios of Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails). The album saw the fruition of Jhonn Balance’s recent vocal-coaching, which produced haunting, passionate vocals while reaching new heights. Now, in 2015, 23 years after its initiation, these tracks have been beautifully preserved by Danny Hyde and are finally available in highest quality audio. Differing substantially from the later, remixed incarnation, The New Backwards (2008), Backwards contains the original versions of Coil’s much-loved tracks “A Cold Cell” and “Fire of the Mind,” which have appeared on various compilations over the years, and are now presented as originally intended. This album is the essential bridge between Love’s Secret Domain and the later Musick to Play in the Dark series; an essential conduit to understand the journey that Coil took.


A1. Intro
A2. Backwards
A3. Amber Rain
A4. Fire of the Green Dragon
B1. Be Careful What You Wish For
B2. Nature Is a Language
B3. Heaven’s Blade
C1. CopaCaballa
C2. Paint Me as a Dead Soul
C3. AYOR (It’s in My Blood)
D1. A Cold Cell
D2. Fire of the Mind

Ref: Cold Spring ‎– CSR203LP